Call for Awards

Call for Awards

BioEM2018, the premier international conference on bioelectromagnetics and the annual joint meeting of the Bioelectromagnetics Society (BEMS) and the European BioElectromagnetics Association (EBEA) will be held June 24-29 in Portorož, Slovenia.

BEMS Awards

Arthur Pilla Young Scientist Award

Late in 2015, our community lost a pioneer when Arthur Pilla passed away at the age of 80. Arthur was a friend and colleague of many of us and was well known for his numerous publications in the field, especially relating to pulsed EMF. To honour his contribution to the field of Bioelectromagnetics, his family is sponsoring an annual award at the BioEM meetings, the joint annual meeting of BEMS and EBEA.

The Arthur Pilla Young Scientist Award will be awarded to the best presentation by a young scientist at the annual BioEM Meeting. Starting with the BioEM2016 meeting in Ghent, any presentations (Platform & Poster) at the BioEM meeting by “young scientists” may be entered for this award. In 2016, the Arthur Pilla Young Scientist Award was awarded to Dr. Esin Sӧzer from the Frank Reidy Research Center for Bioelectrics, Old Dominion University, USA. In 2017, the award went to Dr. Manuel Murbach from IT’IS Foundation (

The “young scientist” must be the first author on the research and must present the talk or poster. To be qualified as a “young scientist” for the Arthur Pilla Young Scientist Award, the candidate must have received a PhD no more than 5 years prior to the opening date of the BioEM meeting.

If you’re a qualified “young scientist” and wish to be considered for this award, you need to send a copy of your PhD certificate and the title of the presentation you wish to enter for this award to when the call goes live (please check the website for updates).

Only one presentation may be entered per individual.

The prize consists of a certificate and an award of US$1200. Note that the winner of the EBEA Chiabrera award will not be eligible to receive this award.

The Arthur A. Pilla Research Foundation

d’Arsonval Award

The d’Arsonval Award is presented by the BEMS Society to recognize extraordinary accomplishment within the discipline of bioelectromagnetics. The award consists of a silver medallion, a silver lapel pin, an illuminated testimonial and a US$2,000 honorarium, which are presented at the BEMS Annual Meeting. For more information see :

BEMS Awards Call (PDF document)

Chiabrera Award

Call for nominations to the Chiabrera award (edition 2018)

Dear EBEA members,

We open the call for the fourth edition (year 2018) of the Alessandro Chiabrera Award for Excellence in Bioelectromagnetics. This prize has the main purpose to keep alive Prof. Chiabrera’s memory and scientific legacy, as well as to foster excellence in the Bioelectromagnetics community, by giving recognition to outstanding scientific contributions from early stage researchers. In particular, the following topics are recommended:

  • Interaction mechanisms
  • Innovative technologies
  • Biomedical applications
  • Theoretical modeling
  • In vitro studies
  • In vivo studies
  • Human studies

Nominations are invited for early stage researchers (under the age of 35 on January 1st of the year of nomination). The Award consists of 1200 €, which will be funded by EBEA directly and through private and company participation. The Award will be officially presented at the BioEM2018 Conference (Portoroz, Slovenia), and the conference fee for the recipient will be waived.

Candidates must be nominated by an EBEA member who needs to provide:

  • A curriculum vitae of the candidate with full list of publications;
  • A letter of motivation describing particular innovative contributions by the candidate in the topics listed above.

A committee composed of the EBEA President and four other prominent scientists will be in charge of the selection.

The committee will assign the Award on the basis of:

  • Pertinence of the topics;
  • Relevance, innovation and quality of the presented papers;
  • Scientific standing of the candidate on the basis of the presented CV (e.g. demonstration of independent research capabilities, fellowships, awards, etc).

The EBEA Council will give final approval before the award commitment.

Nominations must be sent to before February 15th, 2018.
For more details about the award, please write to

Former recipients of the Alessandro Chiabrera Award are Maxim Zhabodov (2015, France), Sarah Loughran (2016, Australia), and Aude Silve (2017, France).

Best Regards,

Dr. Isabelle Lagroye
President of EBEA

Chiabrera Award Call (PDF document)